Logo for College of the Holy Cross


Members of Class of 2016 Honored For Their Excellence in Academics, Leadership in Service

Emily Conn selected as Class of 2016 valedictorian
May 25th, 2016 by 

Tom Rettig

Over their four years at the College of the Holy Cross, the Class of 2016 has exhibited excellence in many different forms and, as their time as students on Mount St. James comes to an end, the community gathers to celebrate and honor their vast achievements.

Among these students is Emily Conn, who has been selected to deliver the Class of 2016 valedictory address during the Commencement exercises on Friday, May 27.

Conn is an English major in the College Honors Program and completed a thesis on Milton’s “Paradise Lost;” she is also a member of the Alpha Sigma Nu Jesuit Honor Society.

Conn has been involved in campus ministry, serving as a lector and liturgical coordinator, and in the Chaplains’ retreat programs, participating in and helping lead Manresa and Escape retreats. She has been a Resident Assistant for three years, and served as the Head RA in Mulledy Hall this year. She has been an Orientation Leader for both summer and fall orientations and has participated in Spring Break immersions all four years, serving as leader to this year’s immersion trip to the Appalachian community of Pearisburg, Va. She also traveled to Nicaragua on a 10-day immersion trip in January 2015.

Following graduation, Emily will head to San Jose, Calif., where she will join the Jesuit Volunteer Corps and work at Sacred Heart Community Service.

Conn was also named as the recipient of The Leonard Award, given to the valedictorian of the graduating class for proficiency in oratory, debating, or like competition. Conn, and other outstanding members of the Class of 2016 were honored for their academic excellence and leadership in service during this year’s presentation of academic prizes and awards on May 26 in the Dinand Library Main Reading Room. The full list of recipients is shown below:

The Presidential Service Awards – Jack M. Green, Erin L. Hillis, Michael A. Mastroianni, Jacob W. Medina, Christopher R. Morgan, Victoria L. Paulino, Zhenxi Qi, Ja-Lene S. Scott-Dottin, Matthew F. Watson, Anthony E. Yakely
The George B. Moran Award – Amina V. O. Gomez
The George J. Allen, Ph.D., ’65 Psychology Award – Elizabeth M. O’Brien
The American Institute of Chemists Foundation Award – Anthony E. Yakely
The Pedro Arrupe Medal and Prize – Anthony E. Yakely
The Asian Studies Program Award – Nina Ho
The Beethoven Prize – Michaella A. Caporello
The Bourgeois French Prize – Sarah E. Curran
The Nellie M. Bransfield Award – Brian F. Ott
The Joseph C. Cahill Prize (ex aequo) – Marshall G. Lougee, Michelle I. Schefter
The Frank D. Comerford Award – Bethany J. Fogerty
The Philip A. Conniff, S.J., Prize – Steven A. Merola
The Crompton Gold Medal – Emma S. Sikes
The John J. Crowley Memorial Prize – Daniel L. Maher
The John J. Cummings, Jr./BAI Award – Brendan P. Connallon
The Caren G. Dubnoff Political Science Award – Sean R. Griffin
The Economics and Accounting Achievement Award – Sean R. Griffin
The James Fallon Debating Purse – Sean R. Griffin
The Father Flatley Medal – Adam J. Sliwowski
The Rev. John W. Flavin, S.J., Award in Biology – Jeffrey S. Bourgeois, Jr.
The Vin Forde Memorial Award – John J. Sansone
The Thomas A. Fulham Environmental Studies Prize – Derek C. Keough
The Dr. Marianthi Georgoudi Memorial Award – Caitlin P. Murphy
The Edna Dwyer Grzebien Prize – Karina S. Camargo
The George H. Hampsch Award – Harrison B. Cahoone
The Rev. William F. Hartigan Medal – Anthony V. John
The Rev. Robert F. Healey, S. J., Greek Prize – Henry L. Whitmore
The Holy Cross Club of Worcester Prize – Adam R. Ouellet
The Thomas P. Imse Alpha Kappa Delta Award – Zhenxi Qi
The Robert Edmond Jones Award – Savannah L. Plante
The Edward V. Killeen, Jr., Prize – Alexis K. Dame
The Lambda Alpha Anthropology Award – Natasha R. Meyer
The Latin American and Latino Studies Award – Brian J. Beaton, Jr.
The John C. Lawlor Medal – Castan V. Sommer
The William E. Leahy Award – Barry S. Quinn
The Leonard Award – Emily R. Conn
The Heather C. Lochmuller ’98 Award – Sarah C. Valente
The Rev. John J. MacDonnell, S.J., Computer Science Award – Joseph E. DiSabito
The Gertrude McBrien Mathematics Prize – Timothy J. Arnold
The Leonard J. McCarthy, S. J., Memorial Prize – Paige A. N. Tortorelli
The Nugent Gold Medal – Zachary T. Fernandes
The John Paul Reardon Medal and Award – John F. Gallagher
The Freeman M. Saltus Prize – Brendan C. Perra
The George Bernard Shaw Award – Brian F. Ott
The Study Abroad Independent Project Prize – Tiffany L. Holland
The Vannicelli Washington Semester Program Award – Jacob W. Medina (Fall ’14), Brian J. Beaton, Jr. (Spring ’15)
The Varsity Club Norton Prize – Michelle J. McNeil
The Shirley Verrett French Prize in Memory of the Rev. Lionel P. Honore, S.J. – Lillian R. Daley
The Edward F. Wall, Jr., Prize – Kellie A. Gignac
The Women’s and Gender Studies Award – Caitlin M. McGuire
The Carter G. Woodson Prize – Chyna M. Hope

| More
English, News

Comments are closed.