Logo for College of the Holy Cross


2017 Bob Cousy Award Watch List Narrowed to 10 Finalists

January 30th, 2017 by 

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 10 watch list finalists for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross. Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy ’50, the annual honor now in its fourteenth year recognizes the top point guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to just 10.

“We thank College of the Holy Cross for their continued support of this prestigious award. As an outstanding student-athlete at Holy Cross and as an exceptional professional player, Mr. Cousy paved the way for the countless point guards who aspired to follow in his footsteps,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “These ten finalists are the best in the collegiate game today.”

Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award. The winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards, presented by Wendy’s, live from The Novo by Microsoft in downtown Los Angeles on Friday, April 7, 2017. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

For more information on the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross, visit www.HoophallAwards.com.

2017 Bob Cousy Award presented by College of the Holy Cross Finalists:

Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga
Monte Morris, Iowa St.
Frank Mason, Kansas
De’Aaron Fox, Kentucky
Melo Trimble, Maryland
Joel Berry II, North Carolina
Dennis Smith, North Carolina State
Lonzo Ball, UCLA
Jalen Brunson, Villanova
Markelle Fultz, Washington

| More
News, Press Release

Comments are closed.